New heat bulb not hot enough

billie

Hello!

I recently rescued a horse-field tortoise from my mums friend. Shes settled in fine, I've had her nearly two weeks now. On Monday I came home from uni and her UV bulb had died so I went and purchased another one and set it all up. Her temperature stayed between 31 and 32 degrees. Today I noticed her temperature was at 28 degrees! She came with a spare basking bulb, so I swapped the bulbs as I thought the original one may have being going. I swapped the bulbs nearly an hour ago and the temperature is ranging between 25-27 degrees even with the thermostat still set to 32 degrees? Is this normal? Will it get hotter? Does she need a different bulb? Is it because its winter and colder? Shes not in hibernation as I read she was too young.

I'm worried for her as obviously this temperature is too low but I've got the thermostat set correctly! Is it the new UV bulb or the new basking bulb? Please help! Im a newbie to tortoises! I had one bearded dragon about two years ago so I really dont have much reptile experience either :/

The basking bulbs are the yellow/clear ones (not red/blue), thats what she came with. I've read so many websites and books but I am really concerned about the temperature not rising.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Hello and welcome!

Sounds like you've gotten some wonky care advice there. I hope you will let us help.