new greek tortoise.. please help, not sure if enclosure is too cold??

Status
Not open for further replies.

yankeeslover

5 Year Member
thank you, im brand new to the tortoise world.. I purchased a greek tortoise this weekend.. I did do ton of homework before I purchased.. I actually built a turtle home for him/her.. its roughly 4x3 so it should be plenty big atleast for now, much bigger then the tanks that the petshops try to sell you. its made out of wood and is open(no screen top).. im using coco coir for betting... I also have a zoomed 160 watt mecury light that puts out all three(heat, uva,uvb).. this is all I am using for heat..my house is at room temp. here are my questions. first, I have the bulb around 14 inches above the enclosure, it is in the center of enclosure.. right below the light the temp is roughly 93 degrees... problem is that once I measure temps with my digital probe outside of this circle the temp drops to around room temp(72).. inside his big hide is probably even colder(69 degrees). any tips to raise the temp outside of his basking area? its 160 watt bulb, figured it would heat up some... now maybe the bedding is still cold since it is still partialy wet, and as it dries a bit maybe it will warm up? since he is new he is still hiding in his home, I only had him two days now, I figured if he was cold he would come out, but since he is new he is probably scared... thank you for reading this, just looking for advice from experienced owners....

Spn785

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Mid-Missouri
You probably need to lower your MVB a little, 93 is a little cool for a greek, 100 is best.

abclements

5 Year Member
I don't know much about Greeks (I have a Red Foot) but I use a heat rope to heat up the substrate, especially the substrate in the hide. Which in turn heats up the entire hide. For now, I would try lowering the MVB and see if that works but if not, you may need to get a heating pad or heat ropes to go under the hide.