New Fish!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

feline8

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
MD
I'm no expert but it sure looks like it. Any changes in behavior? I know that when my fish was pregnant, she was very agitated and swam around a lot. Just in case, keep your female fish in a separate part of the tank, inaccessible to the rest of the fish.

This might help: http://www.ehow.com/how_5687169_tell-fish-pregnant.html

BowandWalter

5 Year Member
She doesn't appear to be, she could however be in very early stages. I mostly breed guppies, mollies, and sword tails. Platys are not something I've ever gotten into, with the other live bearers you can tell there preggers because the area around the vent goes a darker color, I imagine it would be the same for your girl. She'd also get fat, like wholly-cow-this-fish-is-gonna-blow fat.

GeoTerraTestudo

5 Year Member
Broomfield, Colorado
Tortoise Boy,

You could put the gravid female in another container. I would avoid fishbowl-type containers, because they lack filtration and aeration. However, if you had another small, established tank, that would be okay. You could also buy a small plastic container that goes in your existing aquarium, which serves to separate the mother from the other fish. Also, depending on the container you buy, it can also separate the mother from her own babies once they're born (so she doesn't eat 'em).

However, unless you're trying to get as many babies to survive as possible, it's a good idea to just make sure there's plenty of cover in the aquarium all the time. That could include rocks, caves, fake plants, real plants, and/or floating plants. This allows the mother to hide when she's giving birth, and it allows the babies to hide after they've been born. As Movie Actor mentioned above, this method is nice because it selects for those babies that are fit enough to avoid predators.