new eastern box turtle, opi (: any advice appreciated !

Status
Not open for further replies.

stinax182

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Springfield, Massachusetts
i recently acquired an adult female box turtle. I'm new to a boxies, so my first question is how do other boxie owners offer worms/crickets/roaches? i tried sinking a dish into the substrate but she has trouble and everything just crawls out on her.

she's not too fast and won't eat in front of me yet so i can't really supervise. she's only eaten super worms so far. I've offered her a variety of store bought and home grown greens, banana, tomato, cucumber, mazuri, carrot and green pepper. I've only had her since Sunday so i know she is still settling in. any advice on box turtles in general is appreciated!

MyCollage_3_zps21f5de7e.png

Sent from my MB886 using TortForum mobile app

wiccan_chicken

5 Year Member
Georgia
I usually soak my yearling, then drain the water and put her in a tub with her food and set that in her enclosure and leave her alone for an hour. This way they don't crawl out and I know she ate.

SANDRA_MEISSNEST

5 Year Member
She is super cute.
Mine eat like 1—2 times a week nightcrawlers, they also hunt their own food, then they eat everyday a mix of avocado mushrooms any kind of berries, tomatoes cucumbers lettuce, cantaloupe... that mixture they get twice a day. I also have like a little pool in the enclosure, where they can get in and out very easily

Sent from my ZTE N9120 using TortForum mobile app

Attachments

• 1378523716086.jpg
    1378523716086.jpg
    166.2 KB · Views: 61

wiccan_chicken

5 Year Member
Georgia
Also, very pretty girl and welcome to the forum, I'm tired sorry lol I hope you enjoy your new girl :)

SANDRA_MEISSNEST

5 Year Member

Attachments

• 1378523824216.jpg
    1378523824216.jpg
    77.1 KB · Views: 56

luvpetz27

5 Year Member
Ohio USA
She is adorable!! Easterns are my favorite!! I have a male and female.