New Caretaker for Sulcata Animal Ambassador

Lizen.hayes

Location (City and/or State)
Johns Creek
Hello Friends!

I am the new caretaker for several animals at a very small non-profit nature preserve. Our main animal ambassador is a 17-18-year-old Sulcata Tortoise named Pebbles. This is my first time taking care of a tortoise and I want to make sure I am doing right by Pebbles. I seem to have inherited some inaccurate information when it comes to his care and a local Tortoise enthusiast and community member suggested I come here. I have been combing through the forums and have found various answers regarding 'Soaking" and access to water. Pebbles has a large outside yard for the warm humid spring, summer and fall's in Georgia and access to an indoor enclosure all year round. Currently, there is no access to a soaking pool, should this be something I have built into his outdoor and or indoor enclosure? Additionally, I was reading about pneumonia and tortoises, is this something I should worry about during the daily summer downpours? The current policy is to bring him inside during rains as there is a fear he will catch pneumonia. And last, I have seen some information about access to running water vs standing water and tap water vs bottled or filtered water. If someone would like to link me to relevant articles I would be very thankful. I will continue to search for my answers as well :) Thank you for being a great resource!

Lizen

10410144_10152126337750671_2508542842792759935_n.jpg

Maggie3fan

5 Year Member
PacificNorthWest