New baby leopard tortoise

Jenna B

Location (City and/or State)
Johannesburg, South Africa
Hi everyone :)

I'm a new owner, but it wasn't planned and I need asap newbie advice, please. I live in Johannesburg, South Africa. Leopard tortoises are native to the Cape so I'm close to their natural living conditions but not fully. I found a very tiny leopard tortoise on the side of the road, trying to cross a very busy intersection. I took him home. I would like to protect him and make sure he's healthy, especially through the upcoming Winter. But I have no experience in tortoise care and I need some help.

I am bathing him daily in lukewarm/coldish water (depending on how long he has had to warm up). He doesn't typically urinate or defecate in the water but he is during the day. He really hates the baths and it makes me feel bad.
Initially he only ate lettuce and marrow, and I had to practically put it in front of him and help. Now I'm hiding blended tomatoe and cabbage in the lettuce and he's taking to it very slowly. He eats a couple of clovers while he looks through the garden but none of the grass.
He is small enough for me to hold him (completely covered) in one hand. He weighs 52g, which is more than what he weighed when he came to us (48g). Technically very low on the Jackson (?) scale, but I'm not sure it is meant for juveniles.
His shell is hard but I reckon he's still only about one year.
During the day, I let him romp around an enclosed garden area we have. It has a lot of time in direct sunlight and there is always shade. It has soil and some weeds that he likes to hide in. I leave food and water but he doesn't touch it. It is a very big area, especially for such a small tortoise.