New aldabra addition is blowing bubbles.??

Status
Not open for further replies.

jake

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Canyon Lake, TX
Hi everyone,

I have a new aldabra addition to my family. He is 2.5 years old, good size, looks and acts normal. But he blows bubbles out of his mouth. Could it be the climate change? He came to us in San Antonio from Vegas. Do tortoises have allergies to oak pollen? It is extremely high in San Antonio right now.

Thanks!

old4x4

10 Year Member!
I'm new to this tortoise thing, but he sounds like he's got a respiratory infection. Get him to a vet. I would.

Josh

Ask questions, share answers, talk torts!
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Redlands, CA
nasal bubbles would be indicative of an R.I.
mouth bubbles are probably something else...though i'm not sure what. other, more experienced, keepers will have to weigh in on this one...

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
jake said:
Hi everyone,

I have a new aldabra addition to my family. He is 2.5 years old, good size, looks and acts normal. But he blows bubbles out of his mouth. Could it be the climate change? He came to us in San Antonio from Vegas. Do tortoises have allergies to oak pollen? It is extremely high in San Antonio right now.

Thanks!

I have two aldabran tortoises about 7 years old and appx. 75lbs. I've noticed that when they are too dry (thirsty) their mouths have a lot of foam inside and some squishes out the sides of the mouth. I use the lid from a large plastic tub for their water tray and if I forget to fill it up every day, I notice some foaming. They also really, I mean REALLY, love a mud wallow. Take a shovel and scoop out an indentation in their pen then fill that up with water. They love throwing it up on their backs and just wallowing in it!

Yvonne

jake

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Canyon Lake, TX