Need Hinge-back advice please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jlyoncc1

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
NJ
I was looking at a hinge-back because I have found them interesting thanks to Jacqui. I have no experience with them and I have been reading up a bit, but I want to know from you keepers, how difficult are they to take care of? Thanks for your help!!

Itort

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Iowa
What type of hinge-back? WC or CB? I believe there are 4 or 5 species, 2 of which are forest dwellers and 2 or 3 are savanna dwellers. Check out www.chelonia.org under kinixys genus.

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
USA
They can be difficult Dee ;) CB will always be easier than WC.
There are 6 species, with belliana having 4 subspecies
Kinixys erosa (forest)
K. homeana (forest)
K. spekii (savanah)
K. lobatsiana (savanah)
K. natalensis (savanah)
K. belliana (both)
K. b. belliana (savanah)
K. b. nogueyi (forest)
K. b. domerguei (savanah)
K. b. zombensis (savanah)

Danny

jlyoncc1

10 Year Member!
NJ
The one I was looking at was a forest hinge-back. And, I have no idea if cb or wc. Which makes me believe wc and in which case I would rather not.

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
Sorta going to give you a mixed answer here, sorry. They can be hard or easy depending a lot on luck on your expectations...lol.

First off remember these are going to be shy quiet torts, nothing like the outgoing Russians and Redfoots. Given time they do become less reclusive, but most likely your going to deal with a shy animal to start with.

The hard part can be getting them eating. If you can get them going, then the battle is well over. It can be a struggle and a long one.