Need advice on providing animals to international conservsation group

lvstorts

10 Year Member!
Hi all,
I need some advice from experienced keepers! I've been contacted by an Israeli conservation group wanting to purchase some of my animals for a breeding group. They are willing to pay and provide shipping permits and cover expenses.

I have no experience shipping internationally and honestly, it scares the heck out of me! Additionally, I have no idea how to vet this group.

Any suggestions would be very welcome!

Thanks.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
First off are you sure it's legit and they are not going too rip you off? Be careful. Then I would talk to Kelly, (tortadise). I would think he may be able to help. Good luck.

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
wellington said:
First off are you sure it's legit and they are not going too rip you off? Be careful. Then I would talk to Kelly, (tortadise). I would think he may be able to help. Good luck.

This would be my advise, too. My mind is thinking this will not be a legit thing.

lvstorts

10 Year Member!
wellington said:

Thanks for the reference. I'll contact Kelly. I emailed an extensive list of questions and he emailed back with extensive answers. He's been published in academic work for 30 years and he's offered references (both personal and professional) in the US. He's still not asking for money and gave me an extensive reason (that made sense) of why he's contacting me. And why he's interested in my Redfoots.

No, I have not finished researching and asking all the questions I have yet but I'm willing to go out on a limb and say it appears legit at this point.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Terese: