Need a little bit of help.

Mrs Toonz

Good morning everyone I am new to posting on this forum. I am the new owner of what I was told are 2 forest hingeback tortoises. After doing much research I do not know anymore if this is true I would love any information that I can get because I am new to the tortoise having world. I will be posting four pictures the first two I am told is a girl and the second two I am told is a boy.

Again as I said before any help in any way would be greatful thank you!!!

IMG_0174.jpg IMG_0175-2.jpg IMG_0178.jpg IMG_0181.jpg

Anyfoot

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
UK Sheffield
These are Kinixys Homeana(aka homes hingeback).
Can we see a photo directly above where the head and shell is please of both tortoises.

Mrs Toonz

Thank you Yvonne!!

Any foot here are the pictures...

First two are the "boy" second two are the "girl"

IMG_0183.jpg IMG_0184.jpg IMG_0185.jpg IMG_0186.jpg

Anyfoot

5 Year Member
UK Sheffield
You can see the little scute above the neck, this is called a nuchal scute. The Homeana have this and the Erosa do not. Both are forest hingebacks, very similar looking.
The sexing looks correct to me too. I can't see the tails, but the male looks small and with concave plastron, the female looks big with flat plastron. Females grow bigger in this species. Obviously just because the first one is small it doesn't mean it's male but it has the concave plastron.

Anyfoot

5 Year Member
UK Sheffield
Should have said.
Also the homeana has the nob then steep drop off at the back of the Carapace. The Erosa does not, it's more rounded.

Kapidolo Farms

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
South of Southern California, but not Mexico
@Mrs Toonz , welcome to TFO. The good news is @Anyfoot has already written much about this species. It's up to you to look through his posts instead of hoping someone will re-write a whole narrative.