my russian wont eat.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jayden123

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
braham mn
russian tortoise wont eat?

hi im new to everything. and i got my russian tort about a couple months ago. he was doin fine, perfect actually. but then i moved to my parents just a couple weeks ago. he was doin ok at first in his own room but then my parents cat pooped in his cage. i cleaned out the poop and moved him to a different room with a door and hes hasnt eatin in a few days. i live in minnesota so he could be goin into hibernation but im not sure. im scared i dont want anything to happen to my poor lil sheldon!!

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
RE: russian tortoise wont eat?

Hi and welcome! I could see, it may be stress from constant moving. It could be a change in the amount of light, length of lighting, and change of temperatures. Do you have his private lights and temperature maintaining the same amounts and level? Otherwise, it may be the change from outside factors. Plus as stated he may be "thinking"/being stimulated into going into hibernation/brumation mode.

jayden123

5 Year Member
braham mn
hi im new to everything. so i got my russian sheldon a couple months ago he was doin great adjusting to my lil apartment. perfect actually. but i recently move into my parents. and he was doin ok . but then my parents stupid cat pooped in his cage. i cleaned out the poop and moved him to a different room with a door. and now he hasnt been eating for a few days now. i live in minnesota and the days are getting cold. so he could be goin into hibernation but im not sure. im scared and dont want anything to happen to him and cant really afford right now to bring him to the vet. please help!! his eyes are fine and not sneezing or sloggish and whenever i get close to him he like hisses at me like he scared or something.

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
The Catskill Mountains of New York State