My new vet. :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Guggie

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Vernon Hills, IL
I read an article linked from this site that mentioned a vet in Vernon Hills IL - my town. I wrote him and asked him to tell me a bit about himself. I received the following. Do you all think he'll do??

Ryan:
I am a lifelong herp nerd and became a vet so I could work with reptiles. Luckily I like dogs and cats too. I've been treating reptiles as a vet for over 30 years and have a large reptile clientele. I wrote 6 chapters and contributed hundreds of photos to Doug Mader's Reptile Medicine and Surgery, Second Edition textbook and I have a number of other scientific publications on herp medicine. I am in my 7th year as the Exotics Coordinator for the North American Veterinary Conference (NAVC), a huge continuing education conference attended by over 6,000 veterinarians every year. I coordinate the Reptile, Avian, Exotic Companion Mammal, Zoo, Wildlife and Aquatics Medicine programs for that conference. Prior to that I served as the NAVC Reptile Program Chair three times, each a three-year commitment. I am a charter member of the Association of Reptile and Amphibian Veterinarians (arav.org) and attend their continuing education conference devoted to advances in herp medicine every year. I am the veterinarian for Wildlife Discovery Center in Lake Forest (be sure to attend their Reptile Rampage show March 11; google that for more info). I've been a member of the Chicago Herpetological Society since 1977 (chicagoherp.org). I go on several field herping trips every year and keep a collection of herps myself, mostly snakes, the oldest of which is a 22-year old Cornsnake raised from an egg..