My male has low body weight.

Peter_in_Thailand

I am new to tortoises having only kept snake and lizards for many years however I fell for pancake tortoises there is something special about them.

I have a group 1.3.1 my females and juvenile are doing well however I am concerned about my male his body weight is lower than the females. He eats and drinks regularly unfortunately where I live in Thailand the Vets don't have much experience with Tortoises. I haven't seen any worms in his stool and am reluctant to treat him with Panacur until his weight increases.

What should I do?

Peter_in_Thailand

Here is a photo of their enclosure.
K9Kmnai.jpg

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Males usually are a bit lighter than females. As long as he eats and acts normal otherwise, I wouldn't worry too much. Try putting him in warm water daily for about 15 minutes (into a container he can't climb out of). Dehydration makes them seem a bit light.

Gabriel Mattei

5 Year Member
Thailand
I guess you live in Thailand right? I own many pancake tortoises, they are amazing! That cage for them is too small, crowded and dry. I keep mine outside in huge enclosures with scattered slate rocks all over the enclosure. I never feed them store greens I just plant my own seeds, I get from tortoise supply. Can I ask you how long have you had them for and also did you produce any hatchlings? You may be wondering if it is too humid to keep them outside but no it isn't, believe it or not our climate is perfect for them. We don't get cold snaps, humidity is perfect to keep them hydrated and I never had any tortoise get respiratory infections from living outside. What I would do is get them outside and feed them more grasses (you can get dried hay and grass at chatchuchak and sprinkle it on their food for now). You bought them from chatchuchak right?

Peter_in_Thailand

Hi Gabriel,