More tube UVB ???s

tortdad

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
NW Houston TX
I've never used tube UVB before so I'm trying to make sure I get what my baby box turtles need but I also want to find it at the best price. Are the Zilla brand lights as good as Zoomed? Also how do you compare models? Zilla has a tropical 25 model and a 50 desert model and zoomed has a 5.0 and 10.0. Is the 25 tropical the same thing as a 5.0 or am I just assuming too much?

So you know my table is 4' long by 2' wide. The bulb will be about 16" from the torts.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
None of those bulbs will do anything from 16" away. The 10.0 makes a little UV, but it has to be close. No more than about 12". The 5.0 is not good for anything other than light, since it produces hardly any UV. The Zilla ones are similar.

If your bulb will be that high up, you'll need an HO unit. I get mine here: http://www.lightyourreptiles.com

With any UV bulb, you really need a UV light meter to check your UV levels. Its the only way to know if you have enough UV or too much. Just like using a thermometer to check your temps. I recommend this one: https://www.solarmeter.com/model65.html

lisa127

10 Year Member!
NE Ohio
Go with 5.0. 10.0 is too much for boxies and 2.0 is not enough. Zilla is really not the best brand. I always use either Zoo Med or Reptiglo. Usually reptiglo because it's a tad cheaper. I order through LLLReptile. Boxies don't like it overly bright so one tube running across the middle is enough.

Boxies need UVB, but don't have the high needs that tortoises tend to.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California