more recent pictures of my pen

Status
Not open for further replies.

Saloli

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
middle river
The pictures of my pen some of them are from the spring before I moved. Un fortunatelly some of the plants dropped all of their leaves (small native Rhododendrons and older Blueberries). The ferns didn't like the move much either and I lost my pokeweed thouh I'm growing a new one outside the pen in a pot. I am also currently growing other plants to add to the pen later and have some plants at my dad's house that I will be adding to the pen in the fall (wild strewberries, and Commn Blue Violets) that I've been growing there for 20 years. I'm also considering adding some of my Eastern Prickly Pear Cacti though I'm probably going to wait until I can build a bigger pen. I also am growing trees that will eventually be planted to form a canopy over the pen. The pen has most of the window screening finish I have to do the lid. I am going to be putting some wood stripping along the the horizontals and verticals to help prevent fraying of the hardware clothe. The landscape cloth on the lid (black stuff) is there to simulate ~60% cnopy cover which is similar to that in my study area and other older forested areas in my area (though they range from 50-90% canopy roughly). If you want to know the species in the pen I will tell you. The first pic is from early March. The second is from late March. The third one is from May just prior to the move. Te next couple are from early July. The last ones are from late July. I will soon be posting on native plant species that are suitable for use in pens and the climactic zones they can grow in. Alot of the native plants can grow in most of North America below zone 10 though some only grow to zone 8 or 9 reliably. I'm in zone 8a. Though the plants are mainly ones that cooccur with the EBT, FlaBT, GCBT and TTBT. I will eventually be posting more complete lists on NABTCG's facebook for Ornate and Desert Box T