Mold prevention!

Zxsong

Location (City and/or State)
Pasadena, CA.
I'm currently building a closed chamber type enclosure and I'm finally putting the finishing touches on it. I'd just like to find more opinions on how to prevent mold. I've searched all the Home Depots for non toxic deck sealant and it's non-existent over here! They don't ship online to CA either. Should I use another brand of deck sealant or a pond liner? If I use a pond liner how do it put it on? (Sorry I'm new to building things DIY style!) I'd love to hear opinions/feedback anything helps at this point. I'm just trying to move my little one ASAP into the right environment. Thanks :)

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Out door paint or marine paint should work fine. Any wood sealer, just let it cure properly and the smell dissipate, as for plastic liner, staple and glue is what I would do.

Dizisdalife

10 Year Member!
California
There was a thread not too log ago that talked about mold prevention. AZtortmom posted a product that she has been using with success. Check this out. http://www.tortoiseforum.org/thread-87218.html

There are a couple of products that look interesting for closed chambers. I have not tested any because my tortoise is past the closed chamber phase. The products use soy oil instead of petroleum oil to seal the wood and fight mold and fungi. Here is one such product: http://www.soyclean.biz/household_products/soyseal-wood-sealer-and-waterproofer.html

Another product that got my attention, and again I have not tried this myself, is Safecoat. Check this out: http://www.afmsafecoat.com/products.php?page=2

BowDownBowser

Jacksonville, Florida