Miracle grow organic choice topsoil for substrate?

Status
Not open for further replies.

yarok

5 Year Member
Can I use "Miracle Grow Organic Choice Topsoil" for substrate? It says it would feed your plants for up to 2 months, does that mean that it has fertilizer and that I shouldn't use it? Its the only organic topsoil that home depot has. This is for Sulcata and Crested Geckos. :D

Momof4

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
San Diego
No don't use it. There is another bag others use but I can't remember the name. It might be the top soil in the red and white bag. I could be wrong though.

RedfootsRule

5 Year Member
Miami, Florida
Miracle grow is a fertilizer. If you can find regular top-soil at a nursery, that is what your looking for. Nothing with fertilizer, just clean black dirt.

Moozillion

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Louisiana, USA
Well, I'm a Newbie, so I may be making a Newbie mistake but I use the Miracle Grow Organic Potting Soil in my enclosure.

I was uncertain about using it until i found a toad and her babies LIVING in a bag of partially used Miracle Grow Organic Potting Soil that I had left on my back patio. I have read that toads have specialized skin folds on their thighs and abdomen that absorbs moisture (and any chemicals dissolved in it) directly from the environment into their bodies. They are supposed to be a sensitive indicator of acid rain and chemical pollution for this reason: they're very sensitive to chemicals and are the first to get sick, die off or leave when an environment is starting to deteriorate. Kind of like the old "canaries in the coal mine."