Marginated Newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teko

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
I'm just beginning to dive into the tortoise hobby, and I am thinking about bringing home a Marginated as my first tortoise. I have my turtle table all constructed (in the process of sealing it) and am looking forward to soon making it the home for a young tortoise. I have read quite a few online articles and some books on Testudos in general, and I was wondering what owners had to say about their Marginated tortoises, heheh so far what I've read from this forum, it all sounds pretty good. :p But if anyone has any more information on them I would love to hear it!
One question I was wondering about, is it okay to start from a hatchling? Would I be better off with a yearling? This shall be my first tortoise, but I'm no stranger to herps, have had a menagerie of different reptiles/amphibians throughout my young 23 years of living.
The hatchlings I'm looking at I think were hatched in July, if I'm not mistaken.
Thanks for any help anyone can give to me!

katesgoey

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hi Teko. I don't keep Marginated, but I wanted to tell you I think its great that you're doing all the research and prep before bringing your tort home. Generally, yearlings are easier to start with. If you haven't already, do a search here on hatchling care. You will find alot of info and experience a bit what it's like - some of it is fun, some of it is heartbreaking.
Teko said: