Lost tortoise now found after 9 months!

Tracy Brown

Okay. Last summer we lost our two year old tortoise. He escaped from his outdoor habitat! We finger tip searched the garden for weeks, but to no avail. I was quite optimistic at first, but after several weeks and as the autumn drew in we gave up and accepted that he had probably been killed by he family of foxes that live in our garden, or he had frozen to death during the winter. We cleared his indoor run and put it in the garage.

Today somebody knocked on our door with our lovely tortoise in their hands 9 months after he first went missing! They had found him nearby and had knocked on several doors before finding his home. He seems ok, a little bigger, quite cold and not very active.

I'm still a novice with tortoises and believed such a small tortoise would have not survived the winter or hibernation. But he has! We have spent today setting up his home again and giving him a little lIke warm bath and he has settled on his slate under his heat lamp for the rest of the day. He hasn't eaten anything yet.

Ok so questions I have are:-
Should I take him to the vet to get checked over?
Is it ok that he doesn't seem interested in food? Will it take a while?
Any other tips? I'm still in shock that we have him back and want to do my best for him.

Thanks in advance. :)

Jodie

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Spokane Valley WA
That is great! He will have to get warmed up to eat. I am assuming this is a Russian? I would keep his enclosure75 to 80F day and night, daily soaks for several weeks. Basking area 100F of course. What a survivor!

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Well done. Soak your tort for 30 minutes daily in warm water to make sure its hydrated and make sure that it can bask as 95-100F/35-37C and your tort should emerge from its winter torpor in the next few weeks and get back on the right track.