Lethargic and not eating

Claire Barnes

Hi All,

I was hoping that someone could help me with my baby leopard tortoise. Over the past week my Leopard Tortoise, Maximus, has become very lethargic, won't eat or drink and always sleeping. He won't move or walk and I'm very concerned. He is about 14 months old and lives in a tortoise table indoors. He is staying towards the corner where his heat lamp is. I've tried everything to get him to try and eat but he's not interested. I have bathed him in water and he will drink then but other than that he's not interested. A few weeks ago he was wondered off in the garden for about 45 minutes so not sure if this may have affected him at all. I'm really concerned about him. I'm new to having a tortoise and only had him 3 months. Any advise would be really appreciated. His general diet consists of kale, grasses and garden weeds and clover (which is his fav). I put a calcium supplement on his food and the temp is around 95 in the hot end and 75 in the cold end.

Thanks
Claire

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Where are you?
Does he go outside often?
What are you using for UV inside?
What size is he?
How often are you using the calcium supplement?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:). Also, how often do you soak him?
Then please read Tom's threads below in my post for proper housing and care. The sulcata threads will apply too.
It will tell you about humdiity, that I don't believe you are doing, so please read them.

Claire Barnes