Leopard hatchlings at the reptile store..

SoCal

I stopped by a reptile store this afternoon and they had approx 10 leopard hatchlings for sale.. Before I joined this forum I may not have looked twice and thought they were good... But now I was like OH No.. They didn't have an overhead heat source, there was a big ramped water dish with green dirty water and their shells were so dry you could barely see all the markings, already showing signs of pyramiding..

So I just wanted to reiterate that I am thankful for all the info here! I don't post a lot because I am still learning and absorbing the info hoping to raise some very healthy leos.

Here is "Leppy" ( My daughter named him) 3 mo old, 1 week with me.

ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1463462966.828341.jpg

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
It would be very nice, if you went back to the store, with some printed care sheets from the forum. Inform them in a nice caring voice about the dangers of the dish, having no overhead UVB/heat source and the importance of humidity. If you make it more about helping the store selling really healthy well started babies and saving them grief in the long run, they may make some changes. Please speak up for the tortoises, they can't do it for themselves.

Nmcgowan

I stopped by a reptile store this afternoon and they had approx 10 leopard hatchlings for sale.. Before I joined this forum I may not have looked twice and thought they were good... But now I was like OH No.. They didn't have an overhead heat source, there was a big ramped water dish with green dirty water and their shells were so dry you could barely see all the markings, already showing signs of pyramiding..

So I just wanted to reiterate that I am thankful for all the info here! I don't post a lot because I am still learning and absorbing the info hoping to raise some very healthy leos.

View attachment 173786