issues with colder weather

Status
Not open for further replies.

big_red_tortoise

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
South Florida
I recently moved into my first apartment and went with lower price over better quality. I am a college student so I like cheap :). But anyway the windows are old and let alot of air in. It is starting to get cold and even with the windows closed and the fans off, I am having a hard time keeping the temperatures warm enough in my redfoot's enclosure. I cant keep his heat lamp on because it is so bright he wants nothing to do with it at night. Are there any other solutions? I have been looking at alot of under the tank heaters, but I have a plastic enclosure and I dont know if that would work. Anyway I need some advice. Sorry it took so long to explain this lol.

bluejen1313

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hi! I have an infared bulb that provides heat and isn't so bright so it can stay on all night. I think it cost about 10-12 dollars, but it does the trick! Jennifer

pebbles mom

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Sussex, WI
I also just picked up a bulb from Wal-Mart in the light bulb section of the store. By the colored party bulbs (red, green etc.) Anyway it's made by GE and called "Blacklight" reptile rays, for nighttime heat. I don't think it was more than $7.00. There is even a picture of a snake on the box...

M

Maggie Cummings

big_red_tortoise said: