Is this the start of pyramiding?

VegasJeff

Location (City and/or State)
Las Vegas, NV
I’m still learning and don’t feel my setup is optimal yet. I took a picture of him while he was getting a soak. Tell me what you think. I'll post the link to an older picture below this one.

6977561C-5054-408C-B099-87F8717E6115.jpeg

Older Picture linked here

Blakem

10 Year Member!
California
What do you mean by a profile pic? From a different angle?
Yes, probably from a front face view. I do see some slight pyramiding. Your tortoise is young enough that it can be reversed. Tell us how you’re raising it? Temperatures, hydration, diet, humidity?

VegasJeff

Las Vegas, NV
And if you can provide the temperature and humidity of his enclosure may also help.

His home is in an open air enclosure sitting in the warmest room in my house. Temperature runs from 75 at night to low 80’s in the day. I’m in the desert here, humidity measures 20% - 30% according to my monitor.

I’ve been reading about high humidity closed enclosures and heard it prevents the pyramiding. I’m trying to figure something out.

VegasJeff

Las Vegas, NV
Reposting the picture since the forum wouldn't let me post an iPhone Portrait photo as Portrait. Edited it with Paint.

Tortoise.png

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Front is better than the top, but we still need a picture from the side. In profile.

If there is pyramiding at all, it is very minor. You don't need a humid closed chamber for this species. Damp substrate, either coco coir or fine grade orchid bark, and a humid hide, along with daily soaks while it is a little baby should be all you need, as long as you aren't drying the carapace out with the wrong heat lamps.

Here is a care sheet for Russians, but I raise DTs exactly the same, but with a little grass in the diet for a DT.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
WHAT species? Didn't see it mentioned at all?