Is this possible Sulcata hibernating??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly'sMom

Everything I read has said sulcata do not go into hibernation BUT I found a lady in Pennsylvania who has an older sulcata it looks rather large from her pics (looks normal, no weird shell or deformities). Anyways she's telling me her's hibernates!! She has an outdoor pen and she's had him for a long time from what she's telling me (im not sure if it would be ok to share her pics but anyone wants to PM me I can send them the pics that way). Anyways is this just one of those oddities. She claims it's been doing this from about oct-April for years now. I mean I'm not an expert on tortoise but from the pics I'm 99% sure it's a sulcata like she says. Is it possible for them to go into hibernation in a Pennsylvania winter?

tglazie

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
San Antonio, TX
This strikes me as being impossible, as many forum members who lost their animals when heaters went down overnight in the dead of winter can attest. Sulcatas aren't adapted to sustain such temperatures, but I have seen some folks in southern Arizona and South Texas who allow their animals to spend the mild winters in a burrow. This is something I would never allow, even for a temperate species (whenever I brumate my marginated tortoises, I use a fridge; fridges are temp stable, flood proof, and most importantly, rat proof). But yes, this strikes me as very unlikely to say the least, in the realm of impossible, if I'm to be perfectly honest. Perhaps this is a case of misidentification.

T.G.

Holly'sMom

It wouldn't let me edit to delete her profile pic/name I apologize I had to do it from messenger lol ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1474069370.710245.jpgImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1474069395.756873.jpg

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA