Is this big enough to use for a while?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NudistApple

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Pittsburgh, PA
Hallo all!
My name is Alexis, I've just joined, but I have put quite a lot of hours in reading here. I love this forum. (-:

I do not have a tortoise, but I've been researching Leopard's for a few years, in anticipation of getting one, and I'm curious about something.

I have a Double Ferret Nation for my rats, but as I am down to only four now, I've moved them to just the top.

I have cement mixing bins that fit just right in the bottom (for bedding) that measure 36"L x 25"W. Provided I could figure out a way to maintain proper humidity and temperature, do you guys think this would be a sufficient size for a while for a tort?
I am well aware that my eventual-friend will need something much larger as an adult, but I'm curious (if at all) how long something this size could hold a leopard tort?

Don't be afraid to tell me no! I'm okay will skipping it altogether, especially as I do not even have a tortoise, but I hate to see cage space go to waste, and thought it would be nice way to fill the bottom.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Alexis:

Welcome to the Tortoise forum!!

May we know where you are?

Yes, a cement mixing tub will fit a baby leopard for a couple years. That gives you plenty of time to plan the next habitat.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
The mixing tubs would be fine. However if you are placing them in the bottom of a two level cage with your rats above the tort., I would maybe reconsider. Unless of course nothing from the rats could drop down into the torts cage. Also make sure the temp and humidity will not harm your rats. I have had a couple pet rats, great pets:D

ShadowRancher

10 Year Member!
Columbia, SC