Is my Tortoise healthy

TortoiseCommunity

Location (City and/or State)
London
https://photos.app.goo.gl/kPMf9ieZP5cZ2JWJ7

Hi, I'm very new to tortoises, could anyone tell me if my tortoise is showing any signs of health problems?

He's under a year old, his shell is growing pretty smoothly, he's active, eats well, has hard shell, he's responsive to movement so must have good eye sight, but the colour of his shell doesn't look right :(

I've been doing a lot of research and trying to find a good representation of what a healthy tortoise should look like but none of them seem to look like mine...I'm worried he's not looking how he should be, also, am I right in believing this is a Sulcata? African Spur Thighed? If not can anyone identify what species he is?

TechnoCheese

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Lewisville, Texas
Your pictures are too far away. Could you take closer ones and post them here?

That does not look like a Sulcata. Where did you get it? How old is it? Are you sure it’s not just a spur thigh(Greek) and not an African spur thigh(Sulcata)?

Why is it on the floor?

Could we see pictures of your enclosure?

TriciaStringer

5 Year Member
Louisiana
It is not a sulcata. Looks Greek but I’m not too familiar with that species. What is his enclosure like? A suitable enclosure and good diet are the best ways to keep them healthy and thriving. What are you feeding him? Can’t really tell of his health from the videos.

TortoiseCommunity

London