Is my baby geppetto ok?

Jord&Geppetto

Hi I'm very new to this and have only had my year old hermanns (geppetto) just over a week.
I was just worried because he sleeps all the time n iv had to wake him up every time, If I don't he'll just keep sleeping. He also hasn't eaten much! He had a big munch two days ago and hasn't really eaten since then. He sometimes goes into the cool bit of his table n digs down n sleeps but also likes to dig down in the corner under the uv and heat lamp (which worries me). The cool side of the table is usually at 80f and the basking temp at 95-105f.

Heather H

Location (City and/or State)
N.E. ohio
Hi and welcome. Where do you live. Do you have pictures of him and his enclosure. He is new and needs time to adjust. Do you soak him? What type of light bulbs do you have?

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
Ouch 105 he is way to hot, temps are usually the reason why they are less active, to cold, or hot. In this case he is to warm, with no real place to cool himself down when he needs to. Adjust those temps ASAP.

Jord&Geppetto

Hi I live in blackpool in a caravan the heatings always on so it never cold. Yeah Iv read a few things that says to soak him so I do that once a day. The bulbs are a reptile uvb 150 13w and a 75w heat bulb sold to me with geppetto.

20150221_134510.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:). They do need some time to adjust to their new home. It seems older ones take more time. @HermanniChris may be able to give some advice. Pictures of your set up would help

Jord&Geppetto

Ouch 105 he is way to hot, temps are usually the reason why they are less active, to cold, or hot. In this case he is to warm, with no real place to cool himself down when he needs to. Adjust those temps ASAP.
Well I seen that it's to hot but if he was why would he sleep under it? I have moved the bulb higher n it's temp is about 95-98