Introducing our tort family

Status
Not open for further replies.

OCTortoiseGuy

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Orange County, CA
Hello All,

I am new to the form but not to the husbandry of tortoises, after 20 years I still learning. I got my first matting pair of Sulcata tortoises in 1993. I sold that pair in 1997 when my first daughter was born and kept a hatching named Flower that will always be with our family.

Fast forward to 2005, I now have two daughters and a son and am ready to get a male Sulcata we named Bud to pair with Flower. Also in 2005 I adopted 5 California Desert tortoises from an older gentleman who had those tortoises for 35 years in his backyard. We kept 3 and have since re-homed 2 of the CDT’s to families I know well and they are doing great.

After 6 years (2011) and dozen or so hatchling offspring from Flower and Bud, Bud became very large and aggressive toward Flower. I did not have room in my backyard for another large bin for Bud so I had to re-home him. It was sad but needed to be done before Flower was injured or killed.

Then in May 2012 I adopted a male Russian tortoise from a friend named Turdy (a 6 year old boy named him). The Russian had become a chew toy for the family lab after living together in harmony for ten years. He had suffer moderate/sever shell damage and I took him in hoping to help/save him from a certain death. After some TLC preparing him for hibernation he made it through the first winter and is very active and hungry today. His shell has begun to peel a little where he had been chewed on exposing the bone. I will start a thread on this with pictures soon to get some advice from all of you.