Intro.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MotherOfPearl

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
western North Carolina

Hey y'all

I'm new to the site, and an even newer first-time tortoise mommy.
I live in western North Carolina (the mountainous region). Very warm, very humid, plenty of rain this time of year. I am currently a student studying Simulation and Game Development/Animation... so I essentially have no life, haha, and I'm always at home and on a computer.

My new Eastern Hermann's Tortoise hatchling just arrived a few days ago (her name is Pearl-- the breeder said it's most likely a girl due to the hatching temp; if Pearl turns out to be a boy, I guess I'll call him Porl - after Porl Thompson of The Cure :p). She's around 3 weeks old. I'm housing her primarily indoors, although I plan to let her go outdoors on sunny days (it has rained all week so I haven't been able to take her outside so far - but I have a UVB/UVA lamp, heat lamp, and night lamp for indoors). I have the Zoo Med Tortoise House and a vivarium.

I've been preparing and reading vigorously in order to be the best mommy possible. The more I read, however, the more questions I feel I have! Which is why I'm here now :) This seems like a stellar community with incredibly helpful members who appear to go above and beyond to assist and advise one another. I have only been reading posts so far (for a few weeks), but I'm already impressed with TFO ;)

Please forgive my nubian status -- I'm just learning and I have a genuine desire to give Pearl a happy, healthy home, and to learn as much as I can about tortoises as a species and keeping them as pets.

Nice to meet you!
- Hayley :tort:

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
Hello Hayley and welcome!! How did you decide on a Hermanni?

Beck

10 Year Member!
Lakeland/Central FL
Welcome Hayley! So cool to see a female getting into the game industry!