Indoor box turtle wants to hibernate. Is it okay to let her?

JeSee

Location (City and/or State)
Colorado
I recently rescued a box turtle walking down my suburban street. You could tell she had been a pet by her severely overgrown nails and beak. I've had her for a few months now. Here in CO it's beginning of winter, and as soon as it got cold she burrowed to the bottom of her substrate (soil and peat moss, 6 inches deep) and doesn't want to come out. I have been digging her up once a week to soak her and feed her. Then she just burrows back down.
I took her to the vet and she checks out healthy, perfectly fine. The vet says to continue digging her up once a week or so.
I'm not sure how she knows it's time. I turn her basking bulb on every day, and the house is a consistent temperature.
Any thoughts? I'm new to turtles. We have snakes, and they don't hibernate in the winter. Should I just let her do her thing and stop harassing her?
Thanks

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
New-to-you turtles take a bit of time to acclimate to new conditions. It just may be that she's afraid and staying hidden to keep safe. I would make sure the overall temperature in the enclosure is 80F and that the lights are on 14 hours a day. Put food out daily. Every morning place her into a bowl of warm water she can't climb out of and leave her there for 15 minutes. At the end of that time, place her in front of the food and step quickly out of her sight. Then, throughout the day, every time you walk by, dig her up and place her in front of the food, stepping quickly out of her sight. She'll get the message in a couple weeks.

JeSee

Colorado