I'm worried Ninja may have URI

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ninja

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Arizona, USA
My husband said he saw the infamous nose bubble yesterday and I'm sort of freaking out.

I am, of course!, going out of town this weekend, and working until then, so unable to take her in to a vet until next Wed (I'm in the Phoenix area, and would appreciate any recommendations, Dr. Driggers I think is one I've heard of).

I am a small animal veterinarian and have access to drugs I could use to treat her if it is deemed necessary before I can take her in, hence the reason for posting and getting your opinions and advice.

Here's her story, trying to keep it brief. She is 6 years old. I adopted her about 5 months ago. She had one history of URI in the past, but I don't know how long ago.

We built her a 3 ft by 4 ft wooden box enclosure, partially insulated, to sleep in at night. She likes it and goes in it almost religiously. I have an Osbourne heat mat that we used to keep inside the box that she would sleep on, but since Todd (exoticdr) post about his near miss on the fire I've been afraid of the mat (by the way, he's a classmate of mine at ISU, Hi Todd! Sarah Bashaw here!)

My rheostat has been a bit untrustworthy, I would check the mat at it's lowest setting and it would sometimes be as high as 130! So my solution was to place it under the floor of the box (there is a space for it due to us making feet on the box so we could rinse underneath it, it sits on our patio). Her box temp can get as low as 60 at night (it's been cold here), but the floor remains 75-85. We had a really cold spell and had to bring her inside a couple of nights, but again our house would still get down to 65.