I'm new...Looking to start right the first time:)

SREINDEER

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Central California
Hi All,

I am a science teacher on the coast of Central California (1.5 hrs south of San Francisco) looking for a dual purpose tort. I want it to live in my classroom part of the time and at my home outside at times too (namely during the summer). We are usda climate zone 9--Temps in the mid to upper 60s most of the year, as low as the 40's some winters as hot as the 80's and 90's a week or two per year.

Redfoots were recommended by a woman I spoke with at "turtlesource.com", but they seem to need high humidity and warmer temps than we get so I was conflicted. Sulcatas I fear will get big right around the age when I cant pick something huge up (I am 31 now). Marginated was also a recommendation. What do you think?

What I'm looking for:
#1 Personable
#2 Able to live outside in my climate during a large part of the year (I live on property and can provide a proper enclosure.
#3 Large (impressive, not HUGE and hard to manage)

Any advice helps. Thanks a lot. I just want to do it right :)

Rue

Canada
Having had a tortoise for only a short period of time (but I've had a host of other pets over the years - and still do) and having had three kids and being involved with school activities etc. for years, I will suggest that a tortoise is not a good choice for a classroom pet. They need rather specific care conditions that may be hard to meet in a classroom setting and are not the type of animal to enjoy the activity level of a classroom.

For example, you'd need a minimum of a 4' X 8' foot enclosure for even the smallest of species. You need UVB lighting - and a MV bulb (recommended) is a bit of a fire hazard, not to mention you wouldn't want a child staring at it and getting an eye injury. It's hard to maintain humidity levels for babies especially, etc.