I want to start a local (Oregon) tortoise rescue...am I insane?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sulcata_Sandy

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Pacific NorthWET
Honestly!

Pros/cons? Opinions.

My pros:
I'm single, so no husband to irritate or neglect do to paying more attention to animals ;-)
I'm a licensed veterinary technician, working with a reptile DVM, clinic is "pro-tortoise".
I have the space
I'm resourceful (can raise $, build/barter habitats)
Huge network of other animal/veterinary professionals to network/foster/Re-home/educate
I have a driving passion now to get torts out of homes that don't want them and rehab/locate forever homes

Cons:
Will be expensive
Need to get friends to commit
Could snowball at times and be overwhelmed

I'd like to network people here to assist, mostly Oregon/Washington folks, but also have resources to connect the right tort with a new home anywhere if needed.

Cyber-slab me. I'm I crazy or is this needed? Can you all help me?

Sandy in Oregon

No kids, no husband, just critters and I'm happy.

Jd3

5 Year Member
My recommendation is start informally and just start doing what you can. As it expands you can become more "official".

Often the transition to being a full blown "rescue" ends up associating fees and cramp that people aren't interested in. See if you can help some animals, and step it up from there! Then you get the feel for more and more.

Sulcata_Sandy

5 Year Member
Pacific NorthWET
I agree 100%.
Not interested in "tax status", bank accounts, etc.

Just want to raise awareness, get torts out of bad or negative situations, and give them to people who actually DO want them and make a difference. I'm not a formal person. Been around the block, or city as it might be. Just want to be formal enough for people to take me (us) seriously, but not too formal as to overwhelm myself.

Sandy in Oregon

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA