I need help ! (tortoise died???)

Little.one_

I'm 16 . I'm new to owing reptiles . I got a sulcata tortoise and his name is Tatum .. I got him in March as a baby in not exactly sure how old but I'd say about 1 year by now. I never bought him one of those basking lamps or even let him outside, he only has a heat lamp .. I live in apartments and don't have much money .. As of August he stop being so active and stopped eating and sleeps all the time .. He was eating only lettuce and well he hasn't ate since August .. Sometimes I force feed him just to get him fed but that's rarely .. I bathe him about once a week and only then he opens his eyes.. he was in a box for a while and about last week he got a 10 gallon tank and I keep it at about 88° and he does have shade that he can move to... I started giving him Fluker's Liquid Vitamin yesterday cuz I read that it helps a lot and well today I took him outside in a box and left him from about 9am to 3pm and when I brought him in his eyes were open sunken .. He doesn't react to me touching him .. He won't come out of his shell .. I put him in water and under his heat lamp but he still hasn't moved .. Did he die ? Ive done everything I've read including making banana shakes for him and straw feeding him and bathing him in carrot baby food . I understand I'm not the best care giver but I love my baby and I'm not looking for a lecture .. I just want help and answers

G-stars

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Sorry but I'm pretty sure he's gone. If you ever decide to get another one please come here to educate yourself and get him set up correctly as to avoid this.

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK