i have 3 russian torts. confused by threads ????

aldo11

i have had my big tort terry for 7 yrs now, i have also had walter kronkite for 4 yrs and my latest edition vlad putin for 1 year. now the first post i read when joining this forum was reasons not to keep russian torts together. now i have looked after these torts religously for yrs and as of yet have never had any problems. after reading the thread then researching further i still had some concern. but up until now the 3 of them have lived happily together and 75% of the time they have the run of the house. now i have seen how new members have been battered by criticism on here but i am not a novice in tortoise care and am curious as to why my 3 torts seem to be happy together ?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
You must be the exception that proves the rule.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
No one says not to keep groups together. Its PAIRS that are typically a problem. Russians being the scrappy species they are sometimes don't get along in groups either. Many members here have stories of an over zealous male or big aggressive female that had to be separated from a group due to aggression. The key is that when ever you put more than one in an enclosure there might be problems and you might have to separate them. Having only a pair makes it very likely there will be a problem. Having a trio or more makes it less likely, but still possible.