I’m new to this, help please

VeryTinyTortoise

Location (City and/or State)
Manchester
Today I bought a beautiful baby Herman tortoise and I want to be as prepared as possible so here I am :) hi, so for one he doesn’t have a name, he is around one so not too sure if he is a he and not a she but whatever. Please leave name suggestions?? Also diet, I have some kale and other salad-y foods but I’m not 100% sure what he can’t eat, so some help with that and finally I know tortoises aren’t exactly very loving and excitable pets but do you think that he will warm up to me?

Thanks if anyone decides to respond :)

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
Hi! Welcome! I would suggest you also share how you have him set up, as that is so important to get right.

You say he is a year old, based on what? How big is he?

Have you checked the section on them, along with other sections and threads to give you some basics? For instance occasional kale is ok, but not as a main part of the diet.

VeryTinyTortoise

Manchester
I did buy him from a pet shop and that’s the age they told me he was, i’ll post some pictures in a minuet. Also thanks for the advice I’ll look it up, what would you suggest he should eat??

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Hello and welcome to another Brit.

Unfortunately pet shops aren’t known for great advice when it comes to tortoises. It would be fair to say they usually have no expertise whatsoever.

You have come to the right place however as we have plenty of real expertise between us :)

I recommend you read the TFO care guides and compare them with your setup.

They're written by species experts working hard to correct the outdated information widely available on the internet and from pet stores and, sadly, from some breeders and vets too.

Beginner Mistakes
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/