Hybrids

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brewster320

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Massachusetts, USA
Yep, I decided to let that cat out of the bag and open up a can of worms on a topic which can get fairly heated. I am new to tortoises so I'm not overly familiar with their hybrids, what people think about them, what issues people have with them, ect. However from being on here for a bit there's seems to be a negative vibe towards them.

While I may not be familiar with tortoise hybrids that much I do keep other animals and its interesting to see how different groups of people react to the same issue but with different animals. For example there seems to not be much of an interest in them in the lizard and aquatic turtle hobby but if one pops up people are like "Oh that interesting." And then move on with their lives. People who keep fish, cichlids mostly, seem to either like hybrid fish like blood parrots and flowerhorns or they just don't like hybrids and prefer the pure forms. And lastly people who keep snakes so far have seemed the most diverse bunch over this issues. You have the extremist who will not even do business with people who own or breed hybrids fearing that all captive lines of all species will be ruined, there's those who aren't against it but would not breed hybrids themselves and prefer other just keep them as novelty pets as well, and then you have the people who are completely for it and have breeding projects trying for new crosses and mixing up different genes and seeing how they interact with another species genes ect.