How do you tell the age of a tortoise?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
They look great though. If you got them from a reputable person, you could believe their estimate of age too be close.

WithLisa

5 Year Member
Austria
They seem to have about 12 more or less regular growth rings, so I guess that's roughly their age? I'm not sure about redfoots but that's how it works in (wild) Hermanns.
If they were much older I would expect the rings to be less visible - but I have no experience with RF. ;)

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
They seem to have about 12 more or less regular growth rings, so I guess that's roughly their age? I'm not sure about redfoots but that's how it works in (wild) Hermanns.
If they were much older I would expect the rings to be less visible - but I have no experience with RF. ;)
You can't tell the age of any tortoise by its growth. Where ever you got that info it's wrong.

Destben

Kansas
If that were correct my tort (which I know for a fact is 7 months) would be 9 years old......... just saying. There is no way to tell age.

Destben

Kansas
Growth rings are just that growth. All torts grow at different rates and I would imagine in the wild it would depend on how ideal their surroundings are and the availability of food. So in that aspect there could be multiple rings in a years time if the torts habitat is ideal and factoring in how fast the tort itself grows, which again is unpredictable.

domalle

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
You can't tell the age of any tortoise by its growth. Where ever you got that info it's wrong.

I'm with @WithLisa.