Housing a red foot in Minnesota

J H

5 Year Member
I would like to start by saying that I am new to torts and have not purchased a red foot quite yet but am planning on one soon. I live in Minnesota (temp and humidity are a factor) and don't quite understand the problem with using an aquarium for little ones. I have read a lot of threads saying cover and trap humidity. That being said why not a large glass tank (as long as sides are covered to block the torts view of outside the tank? Also we have a reptile fair this weekend should I look there or go to local shop "twin cities reptile" to purchase one? I just want what's best for the animal. We do have a large yard that I will build a secure in closure in once it's big enough and its warm enough outside this summer.

crimson_lotus

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Massachusetts
Glass tanks are fine, but I usually recommend a plastic bin if you're on a budget. Basically does the same thing but it's so much cheaper, and sometimes you can find ones that are quite large - larger than some tanks. I would personally build something large to start out so you don't have to keep upgrading as your tortoise grows.

J H

5 Year Member
I absolutely plan to build a large table so I only have to build it once but it may take a while to get it right and figure out temp / humidity since in Minnesota it's heat on in the house all winter and then a/c all summer. I was just under the impression glass tanks were a no no. What do people here think of reptile show?

leigti

5 Year Member
southeast Washington
I also think glass tanks are okay for hatchlings but I would go with the large plastic bin also, your tortoise will grow out of it as quickly. I've only been to one reptile show, practically no tortoises there. There are many many people here on the forum that have hatchling Redfoot tortoises for sale.

Merrick

5 Year Member
South Florida