Horsefield Baby Tortoise

Celine2019

Location (City and/or State)
Manchester
In need of some advice! My baby tortoise today had a really puffy eye, one was fine. She seemed to keep rubbing her arms on them. She also had a bit of snot/bubbles from her nose.

She is kept warm and bathed every other day. She has a varied diet but I am very new to keeping tortoises so starting to worry, any advice???

Celine2019

Manchester
Her eyes have pretty much gone back to normal now! But it has happened before with her left eye being slow to open and more puffy

Ohio
A few comments on the enclosure, if that is potting soil with perlite, you may want to find an alternative substrate because the tortoises will eat the little white pellets and they can lead to impaction in his digestive system. I use coco coir and orchid bark for substrate because it holds moisture. Which looks to be another element lacking, make sure you are bathing the baby constantly and wetting his enclosure with mist. If he were in the wild, he would be constantly surrounded by the dewy moisture, plus getting rained on, plus digging down into the moist soil.
Err on the side of being too wet and hot, rather than cold and dry, especially while they are small.

Celine2019

Manchester
A few comments on the enclosure, if that is potting soil with perlite, you may want to find an alternative substrate because the tortoises will eat the little white pellets and they can lead to impaction in his digestive system. I use coco coir and orchid bark for substrate because it holds moisture. Which looks to be another element lacking, make sure you are bathing the baby constantly and wetting his enclosure with mist. If he were in the wild, he would be constantly surrounded by the dewy moisture, plus getting rained on, plus digging down into the moist soil.
Err on the side of being too wet and hot, rather than cold and dry, especially while they are small.