Hooking up a generator TRANSFER SWITCH

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
I'm looking at a Generac 12K generator for my house. In case of hurricane.Etc.
I like this certain generator because it has a tried and true engine and runs on natural gas. I have a natural gas stove and water heater already. And hurricanes don't generally stop that supply. Just electricity. And this thing would run my whole house!
It comes with a transfer switch. Maybe a good one. Maybe not. The issue is I AM NOT AN ELECTRICIAN. I want it professionally installed with required permits. Etc.
I want a manual switch. The power goes out. I go turn off the main feed. Switch over to the generator and fire up the generator.
Got it?
I contacted Home Advisor and contacted three businesses that they listed. One called me back and without looking at my setup, quoted me $10,000. (With permits and a slab)
Is this as ridiculous as it sounds?
Seriously, I was thinking $1,000 to $1,600.
Do we have any electrical contractors here?
Thanks

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA
Hmm, so what you are saying is that Generac doesn’t do the complete install and pass it turnkey to the customer? I would have thought thats part of their package deal. They do have lots of info on their website. Good luck.

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Kingman, Arizona
One called me back and without looking at my setup, quoted me $10,000. (With permits and a slab)
Is this as ridiculous as it sounds?
Seriously, I was thinking $1,000 to $1,600.
Do we have any electrical contractors here?
Thanks
Well I’m no electric cowboy or contractor, but this sight unseen quote seems excessive to me. No running of long spans of nickel diameters of copper here right? Just isolation shed and hook up? Shop around and check those inter net machine feedback groups.