Hi! New to tortoise care and the forum!

waldinj27

Location (City and/or State)
Wisconsin
Hi everyone!

My name is Jeanna, and I am new to the Tortoise Forum. I am thinking of getting a Russian, but I have some concerns.

The first thing I noticed was all of the conflicting information on everything from substrate to lighting and soaking. Needless to say, it is easy to get lost in all of the information, but at least here it seems to be more consistent! Where would you suggest is the best place to get reliable information aside from the forum?

I also am adamant about getting captive bred. However, it is difficult to tell whether what people are selling is captive bred or not. What is the best way to confirm that they are captive bred? Who are some reliable breeders of Russians?

Sorry for the long post and thank you for your help!!

jsheffield

5 Year Member
Westmoreland, NH
Welcome to TFO!

I think your best bet is to read the guides to keeping tortoises here on TFO for Russian Tortoises (or whichever type you decide on) and supplement carefully with information from other sources ... I spent a lot of time and energy getting contradictory information on various websites and in groups on FB, but think the people and caresheets are generally more experienced and less just passing along outdated or unfounded information.

Jamie

waldinj27

Wisconsin
Welcome to TFO!

I think your best bet is to read the guides to keeping tortoises here on TFO for Russian Tortoises (or whichever type you decide on) and supplement carefully with information from other sources ... I spent a lot of time and energy getting contradictory information on various websites and in groups on FB, but think the people and caresheets are generally more experienced and less just passing along outdated or unfounded information.

Jamie