Hi! I'm very excited to be here ;)

elbieregan

Hello,

Two years ago, I saw a listing on kijiji (buy/sell site) for a tortoise. I am a teacher and I have the privilege of being able to have peys in my classroom. Turtles and tortoises fascinate me! They have such personalities! <3

At the time, I naively went off the word of his previous owner, and in hindsight, may have bit off more than I can chew. Wallace is a sulcata... I have since also came to the realisation that he's found an excellent home and I strive to give him his best, despite the challenge we face being in a cool, canadian climate.

He has a large pen (4' x 8') with a hide away box where he can dig, along with heat lamps and full spectrum lamps. During the winter, he gets to cruise around my classroom daily. He loves to stretch his legs and smell my students' feet (he's a little too interested in red toenail polish lol).

He spends the summer days outside where we live on a farm. He looks surprisingly like a pile of horse manure when he's at a distance!

When my husband and I build a new house in the next year or so, Wallace will get his own room with a walk out sunroom. We adore this tortoise and he is definitely part of the family.

I'm trying to give him all possible requirements for his health.

He came to us with pyramiding. We are his third owners; his first, I'm told, ignorantly fed him nothing but dog food. He now gets mainly timothy in the winter and I'm going to try growing grass inside this winter.

So that's why we're here. To learn how to keep Wallace happy for years to come! <3

I look forward to learning from you all.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:) We do love pics here:D Sounds like Wallace found a great forever home. It's harder to have tortoises in the colder climate areas, but it can be done and they can be happy and thrive.

bouaboua

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
San Jose CA