Hi from Oregon!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeannette

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Oregon
Hi! I'm new here, but excited to 'meet' some fellow chelonian lovers. I've shared my house with tortoises for the last 10 years. I just sometimes wish I lived somewhere warmer, where they could be outdoors more often! I am a veterinary technician and wildlife rehabilitator. My boyfriend (who is a veterinarian) and I specialize in raptors and reptiles. Ours is a crazy home! Besides our domestic pets, which include,
5 dogs (German Shep, Maremma, Beagle, Boston Terrier and a Pug)
3 cats (Norwegian Forest Cat, Pixie Bob and an Abyssinian) and
1 Canary...
we have the exotics:
1 Sulcata
2 Russian Torts
1 Ornate Box Turtle
1 Greek Tort
2 Desert Torts
1 Corn Snake
2 Rosy Boas
1 Yellow-bellied Marmot.
Last, but definitely not least, we have the wildlife. These animals stay with us if we need to do surgery, critical care, or any general rehab. Of course, we always have something new! Right now, we have a Red-tailed Hawk and a Great Horned Owl. Kinda quiet. But, baby season is right around the corner!
My concern right now is regarding my Greek Tort. I am caring for him for our local reptile store (although, I have a feeling he will become a permanent resident with me). He had an injured front right leg and he has a poor appetite. He weighs 460 grams. Enclosure is dry 70-82 degrees w/95 basking spot. We were treating his leg wound, which is healed now. I'm looking for any tips and/or ideas on perking this guy up!! I've got all kinds of foods, supplements, etc...
I know you guys like seeing photos, and I do a LOT of photography. Guess I have to figure out how to upload photos here. I do have over 50 albums on facebook, if anyone wants to visit me there, just let me know. A small amount of my work is also at "Jeannette Bonomo Photography" on facebook, too. :)
Thank you in advance and great to be here!
Jeannette

M

Maggie Cummings