Hey now!........

Status
Not open for further replies.

TIESTO.DA.TORTOISE

5 Year Member
I'm a newb here, I recently purchased a Small(2.5-3") sulcata and will be recieving a 3" Leapord Tort. tommorow. I've had Ornate box turtles before and just recently purchased my first home so I figured it was time to move onto Tortoises.

Heres my set-up run-down:

~Torts home.~
Inside, with lights on 90-92*/ 74* at night.
20Gal. (Long) Glass tank
Alpine bedding
Heat light
half logs(2)
Cuttlebone
Small water dish
A little tim. hey to munch on during the day while I'm at work

~"Outside/feeding setup"~
Outside usually around an hour a day in the sun(Loves it)
10 Gal. Glass tank
Timothy Grass bedding(Small-put through the blender)
Small half log
Food dish(timmothy hey,romaine, yard weeds, grass trimmings make up its diet at the moment. about to start a calcium regiment asap)

I'm soaking the Sulcata for 20 mins. a day and he (it) pretty much lets me knw when he's over it. BTW, Loves pooping in the water!

I plan on housing the sulcata and newly aquired leapord in the same "home" till they out grow it. I have a big yard and have all intentions of making a tort sanctuary when they mature a little.

katesgoey

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Welcome Tiesto.DA.Tortoise! Congratulations on your new sulcata and pending Leopard tortoise. I don't know if you've read any of the threads about it, but it is not a good idea to home different species together because each carries pathogens that could make the other sick. Having said that, some keepers do mix the species and perhaps you've read that already and made your own decision. Just thought I'd share this information in case you hadn't. Please share pictures of your new babies and happy tort keeping to you:)

M

Maggie Cummings