Help with a hingeback tortoise. Strange growth lines. See pics

Triciamarie1983

Location (City and/or State)
Urbandale
Hello all,

I am new to the forum. I own an 8-year-old, 65 pound Sulcata Tortoise named Peek-a-boo. But that isn't what this post is about. I have found you all due to coming up empty everywhere else I have looked. The pictured tortoise is at a local rescue I visited recently. I am a Vet Tech (I work with exotics but no reptiles) so she asked me if I had ever seen anything like this. I have never seen such strange growths before. Age is unknown gender is assumed Male. We live in central Iowa. This animal was surrendered in this condition. It can not close it's shell properly due to the strange growths. The growths are as hard as the shell itself and can not pick off. There are no soft parts of the shell at all. No bloodwork has been performed yet. It has been to a reptile vet who came up empty handed and I have utilized all vet forums at my disposal. Any ideas? Any help is much appreciated!

20190623_143707.jpg 20190623_143710.jpg 20190623_143713.jpg 20190623_143717.jpg 20190623_143719.jpg

MPappagallo

Myrtle Beach, SC
Hello all,