HELP! Unexpected tortoises and need a crash course

bluesky89

Location (City and/or State)
San Diego, CA
Hi everyone. This is my first time on this forum, as I just became an unexpected tortoise owner today. I am in San Diego county.

I purchased a home "as is," which apparently meant that two tortoises would be left in a bedroom! They are Hermann tortoises and about 2 years old (thanks to the owner who left a note with this information - ha!).

I have done some basic research, but I don't have the time to do in-depth research on them right now (we need to go full force into a remodel). I wasn't planning on having tortoises in my life, but I definitely don't mind caring for them. They are currently inside in a glass aquarium container. I would say its about 4 ft by 2 ft. It has maybe 2 inches of wood chip-like material at the bottom of the aquarium, and that is it. It looks pretty gross like it hasn't been changed or cleaned in quite some time.

With that in mind, I want to clean it out and put new stuff in there. Should I stick with that wood-chip stuff, or is there something better? The more specific, the better because I will head straight to the pet store to get the supplies. (By the way, is this something I can get at Petco, or should I find some type of reptile store?)

For the time being, the tortoises need to stay in the indoor aquarium. Once our home remodel is done, we can build something outside.

Also, the tortoises don't seem to be getting along. One of them keeps trying to climb on the other one from behind. He/she also keeps trying to bite the poor guy that he keeps climbing on. Is this some type of mating thing? Should I separate? I can go to the store and get another aquarium for the time being if that is suggested.

I am desperate for ideas and advice! Thank you in advance.

lilly_sand99

Marshalltown IA