Status
Not open for further replies.

starkid

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hi guys.
This is what I can tell you -
My tortoises are kept indoors.

I feed them carrot , coriander and french beans.

I keep them in the sun light for about 20mins everyday. Is this enough?
Are calcium supplements necessary?

I have noticed that my youngest, Pixie has these extremely tiny black bugs crawling over her shell and skin. Her shell has tiny holes in it. Is this because of the bugs or too little sunlight and no calcium?

I soak them in shallow water for about half an hour, two-three times a day.
I have not seen them drinking much water.
I have been keeping them on paper for some time now, but now I will use grass hay. Can they lay eggs in it?

Please help. I just got these cute friends and I need to know more about them.
Thanks.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
I have no experience with Star tortoises, but just reading your post, I think you are not offering a nice enough variety of foods to the little tortoise. Here's a link to a conversation about what the others on the list are feeding their Stars: http://tortoiseforum.org/thread-4382.html

As for the bugs...I've never had this problem, but there is a product you can buy at a pet store to put on snakes when they have mites. Also, the mites or bugs are usually in the substrate, so if you clean out the habitat, give the container a good washing and let it dry in the sun, then add fresh new substrate, you will more than likely get rid of the bugs. If you're talking about an outside habitat, there are a few plants that discourage bugs. Marigold is one.