HELP - identifying species

SamG789

image.jpgHi I'm new to this as i just recently was given a tortoise, however I dont know the species or sex. It would be much appreciated if anyone could help me with this as i would like to be able to provide the appropriate care :)

Last edited by a moderator:

Irwin4530

5 Year Member
Looks Russian to me but I mostly keep reds and yellows so I'm probably wrong. :/

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Yes, it's a very young Russian (Testudo horsfieldii) tortoise. Looks to be captive bred and not wild caught. Be sure to keep the baby warm enough, as if they get too cold they get a bubbly nose and stop eating.

You'll have to wait until it grows a bit bigger to tell the gender.

(Welcome to the Forum!!)

SamG789

FLINTUS said:
Definitely. Looks to have MBD as well.

You've worried me now, how serious is this and is there anything I can do to make it better? I only got him on xmas day so the shop we got him from can't be very good

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
When I click on the picture it opens up stretched sideways, so I don't get a good actual look at the tortoise. But my perception is that it is a very young Russian tortoise that needs more humidity in his habitat. I doubt we're looking at metabolic bone disease just yet, merely a bit a pyramiding due to dry conditions. To help alleviate the pyramiding, you also need to get him on a good diet with a calcium/mineral supplement and allow him to have plenty of exercise. And a good UVB light source goes without saying.

In my opinion, the Mediterranean species need all those things in order to grow smoothly - moisture, diet, exercise and UVB/calcium.

FLINTUS

5 Year Member
Watery Wiltshire in the UK