Hello!

Mrs_Gal1981

Location (City and/or State)
San Antonio, TX
Hi! I've been a lurker here but this is obviously my first post. This forum has helped me a lot in the searching for the perfect tortoise for my family and its care. We brought Lorenzo home 2 days ago on Sunday.
My family and I had been talking about adding a tortoise to the family for about 4 years and started to seriously consider it for the past 2. Finally the day came. My 11 year old son -longtime homeschoolers here- is obsessed with critters and learning about them. In recent years we have had a parade of beetles, lizards, frogs, snails, spiders etc come and go; usually catch and release. But he had begged us for a more permanent pet for ages. We used this excuse to finally get the tortoise we all wanted. It’s his pet but really it’s the family pet. We haven’t had a new one since we adopted our dachshunds 12 and 13 years ago, and they are still thriving.
My original idea was to find a local rescue, but as my son’s birthday approached, no rescues contacted me back, I waited weeks. After a lot of research and deliberation we decided we wanted a non hibernating species that didn’t get too huge. We determined the red footed tortoise was the perfect fit. I started looking into pet shops and even breeders, even though the idea of shipping a live tortoise wasn’t my favorite. We live in San Antonio, Texas and finding a red footed tortoise locally was more challenging than finding a Russian or a sulcata which most shops seem to keep in stock. Some shops had hatchlings and I would get one but I wanted to try and find a bigger one if possible. We found a shop in Austin, 1.5 hrs away from here and we were willing to drive. That was the plan, but one day out of the blue I decided to try my luck call a few Petcos, although that was my last resource.